Faculty Fellows

The Society's faculty fellow Joao Biehl and postdoc fellow Ben Machava in conversation with author Lilia Schwarcz

Faculty Director

Yelena Baraz

  • Acting Director, 2019-20
  • Kennedy Foundation Professor of Classics; Behrman Professor in the Humanities Council

Faculty Fellows

David A. Bell

  • Sidney and Ruth Lapidus Professor in the Era of North Atlantic Revolutions; Professor of History

Göran Blix

  • Associate Professor of French and Italian

Elizabeth A. Davis

  • Associate Professor of Anthropology

Michael Laffan

  • Professor of History

Rhodri Lewis

  • Senior Research Scholar/Lecturer with rank of Professor of English

Maria Gabriela Nouzeilles

  • Emory L. Ford Professor of Spanish

Esther Schor

  • Leonard L. Milberg ’53 Professor of American Jewish Studies and Professor of English

Old Dominion Research Professors in the Humanities Council

Rachael Z. DeLue

  • Christopher Binyon Sarofim ’86 Professor in American Art

Kevin M. Kruse

  • Professor of History

Steven Mackey

  • William Shubael Conant Professor of Music

D. Vance Smith

  • Professor of English