As part of the online application process, applicants will be required to choose one host department from the list below. There is no need to contact the department before submitting an application.

Host Departments:

African American Studies, Anthropology, Architecture, Art and Archaeology, Classics, Comparative Literature, East Asian Studies, English, French and Italian, German, History, Music (limited to Musicology, Music Theory, Ethnomusicology), Near Eastern Studies, Philosophy, Politics, Religion, Slavic Languages and Literatures, Sociology, Spanish and Portuguese.

In addition to a host department, applicants may choose to be affiliated with one of the University's interdisciplinary programs.

Programs of Study:

African Studies; American Studies; Ancient World; Classical Philosophy; Contemporary European Politics and Society; Environmental Studies; European Cultural Studies; Film Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Hellenic Studies; History of Science; Italian Studies; Judaic Studies; Latin American Studies; Latino Studies; Linguistics; Media and Modernity; Medieval Studies; Political Philosophy; Population Studies; Renaissance Studies; Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies; South Asian Studies; Theater and Dance; Translation and Intercultural Communication; Urban Studies; Values and Public Life.

Natural Sciences: Astrophysics only (Spitzer and Russell Fellowships). For fellowships in this field only, candidates should apply directly to the Department of Astrophysical Sciences. Please note that deadlines for this fellowship are later than those in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

< Previous, Eligibility     Next, Application Process >