Society of Fellows celebrates 20th anniversary

Friday, May 10, 2019

Spring 2019 marks the 20th anniversary of the Society of Fellows, made possible through alumnus and Charter Trustee Lloyd Cotsen’s visionary gift and generous commitment to supporting innovative research and intellectual exchange in the liberal arts at Princeton. The founding director of the Society and professor of philosophy, Alexander Nehamas, then university provost Jeremy Ostriker, and the executive director of the Humanities Council at the time, Carol Rigolot, were instrumental in creating the Society, a community of postdoctoral and faculty fellows engaged in thinking beyond their disciplinary boundaries. Close to 100 postdoctoral fellows have, through their teaching and research in the humanities and humanities-related social sciences, had a lasting impact on Princeton and a wide range of domestic and international institutions.